Faculty & Staff Directory

Abbie Shipp

M.J. Neeley Professor of Management
Management and Leadership Department


  • PhD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • MBA, Oklahoma State University
  • BSBA, Oklahoma State University

Areas of Expertise/Research

  • The experience of time at work (e.g., psychology of time, time use, etc.)
  • Person-environment fit over time
  • Employee engagement over time
  • Job attitudes over time
  • Experiencing and leading change

Selected Publications

  • Zhao, H., Shipp, A. J., Xu, E., Carter, K. & Gonzalez-Mule, E. Time and change: A meta-analysis of temporal decisions in longitudinal studies. In press at Journal of Organizational Behavior.
  • Peltokorpi, V., Allen, D. G., & Shipp, A. J. (2023). Time to leave? The interaction of temporal focus and turnover intentions in explaining voluntary turnover behavior. Applied Psychology: An International Review, 72, 297-316.
  • Shipp, A. J., Gabriel, A. S., Lambert, L. S. (2022). Profiles in time: Understanding the nature and outcomes of profiles of temporal focus. Journal of Applied Psychology, 107(9), 1640–1654.
  • Shipp, A. J., & Richardson. H. A. (2021). The impact of temporal schemata: Understanding when individuals entrain versus resist or create temporal structure. Academy of Management Review, 46(2), 299-319.  
  • Shipp, A. J., & Jansen, K. J. (2021). The “other” time: A review of the subjective experience of time in organizations. Academy of Management Annals, 15(1), 299–334.

Honors and Awards

  • TCU Deans' Award for Research & Creativity (2020)
  • Neeley Dean's Award for Research & Creativity (2020)
  • Outstanding Reviewer Awards from: Academy of Management Review (2020, 2019); Academy of Management Journal (2015); Academy of Management-Org. Behavior Division (2014, 2009, 2006)
  • Neeley Full-time MBA Students’ “Favorite Professor” (2020, 2019, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014)
  • Neeley Outstanding Undergraduate (Core) Teaching Award (2017)
  • Innovation in Teaching Award, Neeley School of Business, TCU (2014)
  • Best Paper Finalist, Academy of Management Review (2011)
  • Lockheed Martin Excellence in Teaching Award, Mays Business School, Texas A&M (2009)
  • Excellence in Research Award, National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB), Babson College Entrepreneurship Research Conference (2008)
  • Top 20 Poster, Society of Industrial and Organizational Psychology (SIOP) Annual Conference (2008)
  • Finalist for Owens Scholarly Achievement Award, SIOP (2007)